If I were gone…

October 17, 2010

The FedEx man would ring the doorbell,

Leaving a package with my name on the label.

Mother wouldn’t answer the door.

She would walk by that package everyday,

She refused to see my name in ink bled to nothing.

Riley would get into her car on a winter day,

Turning her key in the ignition.

She would turn the heat on high,

But not before seeing my fingerprints;

The fingerprints I left shaping”Riley Loves Kelsey.”

All across her windshield.

She wouldn’t bring herself to wipe it away.

Dad would stand at the door of my room,

The floor littered with unwashed laundry.

In his hand would be a pitcher of water,

Ready to water my plants.

He would refuse to let those plants die.

Casey would ride up to the park,

The first time in a while.

He would sit quietly under the tree,

Relaxed and balancing on his bike.

The spot where I used to sit would be empty,

And he wouldn’t allow himself to see it.

Meeting Paul at Sunflower,

Ben would coast through the parking lot.

The streetlights would cast shadows,

Illuminating the pavement;

The spaces where my car had been.

He would refuse to forget that summer.

2 Responses to “If I were gone…”

  1. Witless at Wit's End said

    You OK?

  2. Ben Nelson said

    You know that’s the way this would be. For the following two hours I was thinking about this. It brought tears to my eyes. I thought of the possibility, and I couldn’t let it go.

Leave a Reply

