Pain

July 6, 2011

Almost every woman on my mother’s side of the family has had back surgery.

Metal cages and screws holding together degenerating vertebrae: this is what I get to look forward to.

I’ve always been careful with my back; never jumped hard off of counters, didn’t jar my back or do anything stupid, hoping it would postpone my unstoppable back problems.

None of it did shit. Here I lay in bed on a beautiful Wednesday. My best friend just got back into town, and I can’t spend time with her. When I sneeze, tears roll down my cheeks. I can’t move without a sharp pain shooting down my lower back.

This has been getting progressively worse for the past 4 days… surgery, you’re in my sights.

Leave a Reply

