KLIK Radio has gone to shit…

August 2, 2011

… not that it’s ever been anything better.

During my time volunteering there, I saw it go through some very severe financial ups and downs, but one thing has stayed the same: shitty programing.

While going through a few podcasts (some recent and some older) I am more than disappointed. Throughout the entire recording, there are people involved in the discussions that are not near a microphone, making it impossible to keep up with what is going on. The music is either inconsistent or repetitive. Although the discussion topics seem to keep on track for the most part, the listeners can not relate to them (WAY to many inside jokes between the hosts).

I understand that I, too, used to be a host here, BUT I tried (to no avail) to fix these problems. Here are a few ways I think things could be fixed to draw in more listeners and supporters:

1. Playlists constructed BEFORE the actual scheduled show. This would ensure that no random or monotonous music is played.

2. Limit the “guests” to people behind microphones. That would mean no more than 3 people speaking in the station at one time. KLIK isn’t just a place to hang out with your random bored friends, it’s a place where a show is being created.

3. Discussion topics are clearly stated and relevant to the listeners. It’s not about the hosts, it’s about the listeners. Also, consistent features done by each show every week would keep viewers interested and coming back for what they are familiar with.

4. Let the listeners give feedback on the quality of the show (possibly anonymously).

I realize that I no longer volunteer at KLIK and my opinion will be mostly unappreciated but I feel like the organization could be so much bigger and better than it has become. I had a large vision of a real, interesting, inviting, accepting, and stimulating show at KLIK. This never came to be because of the dramatic nature had between most of the KLIK staff.

As of now, I see that there are only three shows being hosted throughout the week (most of which I assume aren’t actually done every week as scheduled). This also means that there are fewer opportunities for listeners to get involved with the organization.

My advise to KLIK? Make some serious changes. How? Review your volunteers, their shows, and what they really want to accomplish by volunteering.

 

Leave a Reply

